2018 Awards for Excellence in Digital Education

Digital Education and the Office of the Provost are pleased to announce the annual Digital Education Awards to recognize those who are advancing digital education at Purdue. Click on the boxes below for detailed descriptions of award criteria. Then submit a nomination for a course or individual that exemplifies excellence in online learning at Purdue!

A total of five cash awards of $2,500 are available (applicable taxes will be deducted). Certificates of recognition, suitable for framing, will also be presented to the recipients. The awards will be presented at the Provost’s Faculty Awards Convocation.


Digital Education
Excellence in Digital Education:
Course Design and Teaching
(Credit and Noncredit)
       Digital Education
Scholarship of Teaching
and Learning Award


Innovative Course Design
and Use of Technology
     MVP: Instructional Design
and Support Award

2018 Digital Education Awards Committee

Andrew Antalis – IPFW Staff
Jacob Askeroth – PWL Staff
Ellie Casebeer – PWL Student
Robin Cunningham – PWL Staff
Beth Iserman – IPFW staff
Kim Kinzig – PWL Faculty
Jim Pukrop – PWL Staff
Christabel Rogalin – PNW Faculty
Wen-wen Tung – PWL Faculty
Erica Vail – PWL Staff
Natasha Watkins – PWL Faculty
Heather Zamojski – PNW Staff


Applications must be received no later than Friday, March 2nd, 2018.

Previous Recipients

Year 2018 Scholarship: Emily Hixon, director of the Center for Faculty Development and Leadership and professor of education, Purdue University Northwest; Casimir Barczyk, professor emeritus of human resource management, Purdue University Northwest; Janet Buckenmeyer, dean of the Bayh College of Education, Indiana State University; and Penny Ralston-Berg, senior research instructional designer at Penn State World Campus
Non-credit: Bruce Erickson, agronomy education distance and outreach director and adjunct assistant professor, West Lafayette; Debbie Runshe, instructional designer, Course Design and Development group of IT Teaching and Learning Technologies, West Lafayette; and Janine Black, Agronomy e-Learning project manager, West Lafayette
Credit: Mark Mabrito, associate professor of English, Purdue University Northwest
Innovation: William Watson, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, West Lafayette, and Holly Fiock, instructional designer in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, West Lafayette
MVP Instructional Design and Support: Vincent Hornbach, video production specialist with Digital Education, West Lafayette
Year 2017

Scholarship: Dr. Jennifer Richardson, College of Education
Non-credit: Dr. Bruce Erickson, Agronomy, College of Agriculture, Janine Black, Debra Runshe - Precision Agriculture
Credit: Dr. Charlene Sullivan, Krannert School of Management
Innovation: John LaMaster, Mathematical Sciences, IPFW
MVP Instructional Design: Jeff Chicki, Sheree Buikema, Erica Vail, IT Teaching & Learning Technologies (Team)

Year 2016

Credit Undergraduate: Kimberly Kinzig, PSY 222, Introduction to Behavioral Neurosciences
Credit Graduate: Victoria Walker and Iryna Ashby, EDCI 569, Introduction to E-learning
Non-credit: James Krogmeier, Purdue NExT course, Applied Signal Processing Systems
Online Innovation Award: Atsushi Fukada  and Mayo Miyamoto, JPNS 101-202
Emerging Technology Award: Jacob Millspaw, PHYS 125, Light and Color

Year 2015

Credit: Laura Downey, Management, Management 323: Introduction to Market Analysis (undergraduate); Karla Ross, MSN, ANP-BC, Nursing, NUR 507 Physiological Concepts for the Advanced Practice Nurse (graduate); Wei Hong, School of Languages and Cultures, Chinese 101 and 102 (Online Innovation Award)
Non-credit: Dr. Bruce Erickson, Dr. Joseph Anderson, Dr. Keith Johnson, Dr. John Graveel, Agronomy; Deb Runshe, IT Teaching & Learning Technologies (Team), Agronomy Essentials

Year 2014

Credit: Christabel Rogalin, Sociology, Sociology 320: The Sociology of Marriage
Non-credit: Mark Lundstrom, Electrical and Computer Engineering, nanoHUB-U

Year 2013

Credit: Michael Boehlje and Michael Gunderson, Agricultural Economics Interconnecting the Concepts of AGEC 684: Applied Quantitative Methods for Decision Making and AGEC 681: Economics for Food and Agribusiness Managers
Non-credit: Supriyo Datta, Electrical and Computer Engineering nanoHUB-U Fundamentals of Nanoelectronics

Year 2012

Credit: Erin Bowen, Technology Leadership & Innovation Measurement and Evaluation for Industry and Technology
Non-credit: Liza Braunlich, Center for Food and Agricultural Business Introduction to Agronomics

Year 2011

Credit: Deborah Fleetham, Liberal Arts History 104, Introduction to the Modern World
Non-credit: Amy Mobley, Lauren Neuenschwander, Melissa Maulding, Joan Crow, Eric Adams, Foods and Nutrition - Small Steps to Health Online team

Year 2010

Credit: Ellen Gundlach, Statistics STAT 301: Elementary Statistical Methods
Non-credit: Indiana Watershed Leadership Academy Jane Frankenberger, Director Laura Esman, Brent Ladd

Year 2009

Credit: Robert Yale, Communication COM 11400: Fundamentals of Speech Communication
Non-credit: Not awarded

Year 2008

Credit: Paige Allen, Vet Tech DL Program VCS 145: Principles of Anesthesia for Veterinary Technicians I
Non-credit: Nathan Hartman & Patrick Connolly, CGT Product Lifecycle Management Certificate Program

Year 2007

Credit: Alan Zillich, Pharmacy Practice CLPH 490P: Tobacco Dependence and Treatment for Health Care Professionals
Non-credit: Not awarded

Year 2006

Credit: Jennifer Richardson, Curriculum & Instruction EDCI 564: Integration and Management of Computers in Education
Non-credit: Not awarded

Year 2005

Credit: Kathryn Orvis, YDAE & Hort & Landscape Architecture HORT 590G: Introduction to Agricultural Biotechnology
Non-credit: Robert Bennett, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences Internet-Based Diabetes Self-Management Certificate Program

Year 2004

Credit: Charles Calahan, CDFS CDFS 590A: Designing Child and Family Programs
Non-credit: Dee Love, CDFS Purdue Extension Early Care and Education Training Program

Year 2003

Credit: Joy Colwell, Manufacturing Engrg Technology & Supervision, Calumet Pretest, Tutorial and Course Assessments in OLS 252 and OLS 477
Non-credit: Not awarded

Year 2002

Credit: Jay Akridge, Ag Econ Executive MBA in Agribusiness
Non-credit: Jane Kirkpatrick, Nursing Gestational Age Assessment and APGAR Scoring CD

Year 2001

Credit: Peggy Ertmer, Education, Facilitating Apprenticeship Experiences in Instructional Design
Non-credit: Mickey Latour, Animal Sciences, Incubators in the Classroom

Submit A Nomination
Submission Form Submission Form Questions (pdf)

Friday, March 2nd, 2018


Questions may be directed to

Jim Pukrop
Associate Director for Digital Education

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by IT Application Services

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact IT Application Services at itap@purdue.edu.